Nathan Long
natedogg.bsky.social
Nathan Long
@natedogg.bsky.social
Magic Rules Guru Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary | I answer Magic rules questions on the internet
A: He returns during your opponent's next declare attackers step, and he will be under your opponent's control. Noctis returns under his owner's control, not under the control of whoever activated the ability, and he returns during the declare attackers step of his owner, not your combat phase.
December 8, 2025 at 6:38 PM
You need named mechanics so people realize there's a theme to the set. Players didn't realize that things like "Rebel/Mercenary" and "Spellshapers" were mechanics in the set since they weren't named, so player missed out on them.
December 8, 2025 at 6:00 PM
The only rules change that has been discussed recently has been around hybrid mana symbols. I'm not aware of any discussion about colored mana symbols in the rules text or anything else that would change the legality of The World Tree.
December 8, 2025 at 4:59 PM
I will allow it.
December 8, 2025 at 2:53 AM
But I just did a cartwheel!
December 8, 2025 at 1:53 AM
While the opponent doesn't get their token back, you still get to draw from Edea's triggered ability.
December 7, 2025 at 6:59 PM
A: Yes, you get to draw. The last ability triggers since a creature you controlled but didn't own died. The token ceased to exist before Edea's trigger can go on the stack, but Edea doesn't care if the creature actually returned to the battlefield or not when the trigger resolves.
December 7, 2025 at 6:59 PM
It's a skill that I have to use for about 30 minutes out of the entire year.

There's a reason why I prefer to put gifts in a bag rather than wrapping them.
December 7, 2025 at 5:30 PM
Hey, there's corn in here!
December 7, 2025 at 5:26 PM
Hazezon has some tricks to him - you don't get the tokens immediately, but on your next upkeep. So if you get rid of him before your next upkeep, you get to keep the tokens without the drawback.

It also means you can Hazezon, board wipe, and know you'll have an army on your next turn.
December 7, 2025 at 5:42 AM
I really don't remember that well. I guess I'll count Lord of Tresserhorn that I built for a contest (but didn't actually build until much later).
December 7, 2025 at 5:28 AM
As long as you don't get a second cleanup step, you'll get to keep all 10 cards in your hand and you won't have to discard to hand size.
December 6, 2025 at 6:45 PM
During your cleanup step, you would discard down to your maximum hand size, but since the Woodland is still a copy of the Adept, you have no maximum hand size. Then the effect from the Woodland wears off, but after the point where you would have discarded down to seven cards.
December 6, 2025 at 6:45 PM
A: You will not have to discard. During the cleanup step, the first thing that happens is that you discard down to your maximum hand size. After that, "this turn" and "until end of turn" effects end.
December 6, 2025 at 6:45 PM
Wait, I'm a what?

I hate being the last one to know.
December 5, 2025 at 8:52 PM
A: You do not get to draw. Horn of Greed triggers when a player plays a land, not puts a land onto the battlefield. Since the Expanse's ability puts the land onto the battlefield, your opponent's Horn of Greed will not trigger and you won't draw a card.
December 5, 2025 at 7:21 PM
And I discovered KPop Demon Hunters a little too late for it to make my list. Ah well, maybe next year.
December 5, 2025 at 6:51 AM
205.3h Enchantments have their own unique set of subtypes; these subtypes are called enchantment types. The enchantment types are Aura (see rule 303.4), Background, Cartouche, Case (see rule 719), Class (see rule 716), Curse, Role (see rule 303.7), Room, Rune, Saga (see rule 714), Shard, and Shrine
December 4, 2025 at 9:19 PM