Nathan Long
natedogg.bsky.social
Nathan Long
@natedogg.bsky.social
310 followers 170 following 1.7K posts
Magic Rules Guru Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary | I answer Magic rules questions on the internet
Posts Media Videos Starter Packs
And the order they entered in doesn't matter - because there's a dependency, we always apply Blood Moon first. As long as Blood Moon is in play, Urborg won't make any land into a Swamp.
Because we have a dependency, we apply Blood Moon first. Nonbasic lands will become Mountains, and since Urborg is also affected, it loses its ability to make lands into Swamps (because that's what happens when you set a land's type), and no land will gain the Swamp subtype.
A: Nonbasic lands are only Mountains and no land gains the Swamp subtype. Both Urborg and Blood Moon apply in the same layer - layer 4. But we have a dependency, because if we apply Blood Moon first, Urborg becomes only a Mountain and loses its ability to make lands into Swamps.
BONUS Day 100(!) of the CI Backlog:

Q: My opponent has a Blood Moon in play. If I play Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth, what happens to our nonbasic lands? Does the answer change if Blood Moon enters after Urborg enters? #mtg
So..... Booster Tutor is in the Arena Powered Cube:
I have some bad news about how time works.
Can I try?

Remember when Riftsweeper was banned in commander?
Oh come on, it wasn't that long ag-

*Oath of the Gatewatch was release in January of 2016*

Ok, maybe it was a while ago now.
That choice is still make by the attacking player. You can choose to have all of their creatures attack, but they choose which player or permanent those creature are attacking (which may end up being you, not your other opponent).
A: Kind of. Master Warcraft will let you choose which creatures attack that combat and which creatures (if any) block that combat, as well as which creatures those blocking creatures are blocking. However, you don't get to choose which player, planeswalker, or battle those creatures are attacking.
Day 99 of the CI Backlog:

Q: How does Master Warcraft work in a multiplayer game? Can I force one of my opponents to attack my other opponent and have the second opponent declare no blocks? #mtg
This is great.
No major changes to the Brackets this time, but we've been working on clarifying some of the ~*vibes~* around each Bracket, including adding "safe turns" and delineating expectations for decks, win conditions, and gameplay.

We've also removed tutor restriction from 1 & 2.
I would rather see Consultation get banned. There's no deckbuilding cost with the Consultation when paired with Throacle - there's some cost if you want to win with Tainted Pact.
Milk lasts that long? Whoa. I'm used to about two weeks. I must be buying the wrong milk.
This, and Rofellos, are just trying to prove a point about how they shouldn't be unbanned in commander by making Brawl miserable.
A: No, it won't trigger. While the Raptor's trigger does add mana when it resolves, it's not a mana ability since it's not triggering off of another mana ability. Since the Raptor's trigger isn't a mana ability, the trigger that Tyvar gives it won't trigger and the Raptor won't get any counters.
Day 98 of the CI Backlog:

Q: I control Tyvar the Bellicose and Hulking Raptor. Will the Raptor's trigger resolving during my main phase cause Tyvar to trigger and give the Raptor two +1/+1 counters? #mtg
Per the article, not everything in the Cube is going to be craftable (see the "Collecting Powered Cube Prize Packs And Cards" section), but everything on the Bonus Sheet will be in Cube Prize packs and craftable.
Thanks. Sometimes, you just need to hear it.
This works even if you return Spider-Punk to your hand via web-slinging - you get to cast Spider Sense for cheaper, plus you get Spider-Punk off the battlefield so their spell or ability can be countered.
A: You can cast it just fine. Spider-Punk doesn't prevent you from casting a counter spell, it prevents spells and abilities from being countered. You can cast Spider Sense even with Spider-Punk in play, and as long as Spider-Punk isn't in play when the spell resolves, their spell is countered.
BONUS Day 97 of the CI Backlog:

Q: I have a tapped Spider-Punk in play. Can I still cast Spider-Sense for its web-slinging cost, returning Spider-Punk to my hand, or will Spider-Punk prevent me from casting it? #mtg
Why does it feel like everything is breaking?